MLB has its own problematic catch rule | Weird Rules

Share
HTML-code

Comments • 522

  • Ryan Mack
    Ryan Mack  14 hours back

    Can you catch it with your mouth

    • Derek N
      Derek N  2 days back

      Throwing equipment makes a lot of sense. Bottom ninth runner on second. Ground ball to shortstop he makes an errant throw to first the first baseman is not going to get it, tosses his glove knocks it down runner can't advance.

      • montano0222
        montano0222  3 days back

        Ryan looks like a want-to-be Tom Scott

        • Freddy Conover
          Freddy Conover  1 weeks back

          I only learn new information via charts. I disliked.

          • forgotaboutbre
            forgotaboutbre  3 weeks back

            Dez did not catch that ball. I read the damn rule verbatim and watched the play over and over again. You can not make a football move while your body is falling roughly parallel to the ground. Dez was not in control of his body.


            Anyways, nice vid :)

            • Stiz anley
              Stiz anley  1 months back

              They bounce the camera off the other dude to film the dude.
              Nxt lvl ish. Why this channel has 5 million subs.

              • Verlisify
                Verlisify  1 months back

                So every cliche moment in a movie or show where they make the cap catch doesn't count lmao

                • uncriticalsimon
                  uncriticalsimon  2 months back

                  In cricket, it's a fair catch if it accidentally lodges in a fielder's clothing or equipment. But if clothing is deliberately used to field the ball, it is not out, the batting side get five penalty runs and the fielder gets reported for disciplinary action after the match.

                  • HopelessMunz
                    HopelessMunz  2 months back

                    I hate when sports make up rules that add nothing but take away so much.

                    • Marcellus Redd
                      Marcellus Redd  2 months back

                      I don't think it's that dumb of a rule. I've always wondered why fielders don't throw their hat at homeruns. Or, they could use their jersey as a net. So, three bases for keeping a ball inside the fence I can understand. I wonder if a player put his glove inside a hat or jersey to catch a ball, would that get a penalty?

                      • Michael Heathman
                        Michael Heathman  2 months back

                        A batted ball that goes into a player’s uniform would be a lodged ball. A ball can become lodged in a fence or the ivy at Wrigley field. A pitched ball that becomes lodged in catcher’s equipment or umpire equipment is a one base award to all runners. A batted ball that becomes lodged is a two base award.

                        • Vincent Robinette
                          Vincent Robinette  2 months back

                          If you read the rest of the paragraph, it says "displaced from it's normal position on the body. He didn't remove his jersey, nor, did he even un-button it. As such, as much of a fluke as it was, it was a fair catch. The player didn't intentionally catch the ball that way.(right call)

                          • Zach Jezek
                            Zach Jezek  3 months back

                            Once he grabs it out of his uniform it’s a catch so the result would be the same.

                            • Vincent Robinette
                              Vincent Robinette  2 months back

                              Agreed. Did you pause the screen to read the part about "displaced from its normal position on the body? That said, it's a fair catch. He did not remove the jersey, nor did he even un-button it. It was NOT an intentional catch, by the gap between two buttons. Right call!

                          • Paul Ippolito
                            Paul Ippolito  3 months back

                            Totally missing the point of the thrown object rules. It’s so that if a balls going over your head or something similar you won’t throw your glove in the air to prevent it. Or with the thrown ball rule let’s say there’s a throw home and it’s over the catchers head, it’s so that he won’t do the same

                            • Zack Nadeau
                              Zack Nadeau  3 months back

                              DEZ DID NOT CATCH IT

                              • LordDragul Smitty
                                LordDragul Smitty  3 months back

                                I actually have a personal example of this being used in a real game. It's bases loaded I was outfield and a booming hit went to my area it was obviously going to make a home run so I threw my hat and stopped it going over. So in essence they get their three bases which leads to them getting 3 runs instead of the 4 runs that would have happened if he scored a grand slam. In addition to that he wasn't awarded the rbi that would have have been granted to him because of the foul. This caused a bench clearing brawl and me being grounded lol

                                • Monty
                                  Monty  3 months back

                                  so an outfielder can throw his glove in the air to make sure the batter doesn’t hit a homerun and because of that rule it’s a triple and not a home run

                                  • Cory Kingbreaker
                                    Cory Kingbreaker  3 months back

                                    is there one of these on balks

                                    • Mike Poore
                                      Mike Poore  3 months back

                                      Remember that a catch must include voluntary release. That is, after secure possession of the ball, the release of the ball must be a voluntary motion and not an accidental drop. There is no prescribed time limit either. If an outfielder gets possession of the ball and then hits the wall or another fielder and then drops it, it is NOT a catch.

                                      • Hi People
                                        Hi People  3 months back

                                        Dez did catch that, the ref screwed up

                                        • Kroban3
                                          Kroban3  3 months back

                                          I was in a game where the 2nd baseman threw his glove at a line drive and just barely tipped it. Bases were loaded. Batter was awarded 3rd base and 3 runs scored. That guy will (probably) never throw his glove at a batted ball again.

                                          • Ricardo Ayala
                                            Ricardo Ayala  4 months back

                                            What about throwing your glove with the baseball in it? These are odd rules... hashtag that movie Major League

                                            • Carrie Moorby
                                              Carrie Moorby  3 months back

                                              There lots of clips of people doing that when the ball gets stuck in the netting of the glove and they can’t remove it

                                          • Ricardo Ayala
                                            Ricardo Ayala  4 months back

                                            So they were creative... just not fun

                                            • # lakewood20
                                              # lakewood20  4 months back

                                              What if you intentionally take a line drive off your chest and then catch it? Triple?

                                              • Robert Dunn
                                                Robert Dunn  4 months back

                                                im triggered that he called umps refs

                                                • jordan murai
                                                  jordan murai  4 months back

                                                  Can tell they dont anything about the game 😂

                                                  • Shawn Baker
                                                    Shawn Baker  5 months back

                                                    Wouldn't they have to be creative to come up with the rules to begin with???

                                                    • Chesty McStudmuffin
                                                      Chesty McStudmuffin  5 months back

                                                      Dude, go see a dermatologist.

                                                      • Ryan Abell
                                                        Ryan Abell  5 months back

                                                        The attempted comedy in these videos are cringe

                                                        • Insert name HERE
                                                          Insert name HERE  5 months back

                                                          I feel like someone can really exploit some of these hidden unenforced rule.

                                                          • Will Grimm
                                                            Will Grimm  6 months back

                                                            Look up detached equipment mlb here on YouTube and you can actually witness this happening when a player throws his hat at the ball and the batter is awarded a triple.

                                                            • Thomas H.L.
                                                              Thomas H.L.  6 months back

                                                              you should do a "Catch and Carry" rule weird af.

                                                              • AyyCardinal
                                                                AyyCardinal  6 months back

                                                                Dez Bryant didn't catch it. The rules are there lol. But now, the rules are changed, but than that wasn't a catch. get over it

                                                                • Travis Is Worrell
                                                                  Travis Is Worrell  1 months back

                                                                  the ball never hit the ground you imbecile, so even then it was a catch

                                                              • Joshaua Lujan
                                                                Joshaua Lujan  6 months back

                                                                Dislike because they’re not refs

                                                                • Kuma Flamewar
                                                                  Kuma Flamewar  6 months back

                                                                  Dez definitely didn't though

                                                                • Elite Soulfly
                                                                  Elite Soulfly  6 months back

                                                                  It’s funny you said the Harlem globetrotter comment. Because I think it was Ernie banks who was catching balls with his hat as a bit of a parlor trick during games. As a crowd pleaser. Kind filled the stands. This may be while the rule was made?

                                                                  • Uncle Creepy
                                                                    Uncle Creepy  6 months back

                                                                    These guys watch sports as much as I don’t creep people out.

                                                                    • The Grasseater
                                                                      The Grasseater  6 months back

                                                                      I guess I'll go google it now so I can see the footage

                                                                      • Phillip Stahl
                                                                        Phillip Stahl  6 months back

                                                                        Cowboys fans should be dragged into the streets and be executed in minecraft

                                                                      • Kuruma Uzamaki
                                                                        Kuruma Uzamaki  6 months back

                                                                        I’m surprised no ones tried robbing a hr by throwing their glove in the air to hit the ball thats 3 bags not a hr

                                                                        • JasonWittenFan
                                                                          JasonWittenFan  6 months back

                                                                          DEZ CAUGHT THAT DAMN BALL!

                                                                        • Tom Parry-Jones
                                                                          Tom Parry-Jones  6 months back

                                                                          This actually happened in a first-class cricket match in England once. Warwickshire's Jonathan Trott was fielding at short leg (only a couple of yards away from the batsman) and the ball was hit at him very hard, so he jumped and turned his back on the ball. As he did, it made its way into his trouser pocket. In cricket, this is a legal catch as he didn't do it intentionally. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-YvITpZPDNI

                                                                          • Gray Lewis
                                                                            Gray Lewis  6 months back

                                                                            Wait wait wait... So if the rule is that on a thrown ball, if someone interferes with it with their uniform, it is a two base advance. Why have outfielders not abused this?

                                                                            • Rob Hatch
                                                                              Rob Hatch  6 months back

                                                                              0:27 "but there was a game where the refs just totally whiffed on this catch rule." As an Umpire, I am so triggered right now...

                                                                              • ijachacovert
                                                                                ijachacovert  4 weeks back

                                                                                Made me cringe. Just like calling runs, points.

                                                                              • ArmadilloLover99
                                                                                ArmadilloLover99  1 months back

                                                                                I usually get so triggered at people using the wrong lingo to refer to any aspect of baseball but I am so used to SB Nation’s obvious almost-purposeful ignorance to everything about baseball that I barely even noticed.

                                                                              • Heavy Metal Collector
                                                                                Heavy Metal Collector  4 months back

                                                                                ikr? How did nobody whiff punish those refs?

                                                                              • Ferdinand Cesarano
                                                                                Ferdinand Cesarano  5 months back

                                                                                Terrible. How did this not cause a re-take?

                                                                            • Justin Lake
                                                                              Justin Lake  6 months back

                                                                              I don’t know if this one has been done but is their a certain reason why there is a timer for a pitcher to pitch?

                                                                              • gwaptiva
                                                                                gwaptiva  6 months back

                                                                                If you read the second part of the rule exactly, the "three base advance" would only apply if the part of the uniform (or mask or cap) was somewhere other than it would normally be.

                                                                                • maxscameraguy
                                                                                  maxscameraguy  7 months back

                                                                                  He didnt catch it

                                                                                • Winchester Stewart
                                                                                  Winchester Stewart  7 months back

                                                                                  Technically he didn't "use" his shirt to catch it. It just happened. Using implies that he did something.